Egg Mask – To Protect Hair Fall

IMG_6668-Recovered.jpg

Guys, since I’ve moved to Ireland, my hair – once shiny, long, full of life, have become dull, dry, lifeless strands. I really don’t know who to blame; the all-year long cold weather, the harsh hard water of Drogheda or the pregnancy after-effects. But whatever it is, has ruined my hair immensely.

The other day I went to Peter Mark for  a ‘free’ hair consultation. The girl was really nice, she saw every bit of my head, for if I had any bald patches (which thank God I had none). In fact, she was almost impressed by the amount of hair (although half to what I had) I have. At the end of the consultation, she gave me three bottles (a shampoo, conditioner and a serum) and a bill of €75 :O Since I went in with the intention of ‘free’ consultation, I was not in a mood to pay that much on bottles of chemicals. I thanked her for her time, returned the extremely precious bottles and came out looking for alternative solutions.

I realized, instead of using a thousand chemicals on my scalp, I need to make my hair roots strong by nourishing them. I remember back in college days, mum used to put egg mask on our heads on Sundays. Those were the best hair days I ever had. So I decided to stick to the old-forgotten, magic recipe of hair success.

Well, the recipe is simple. You take 1 or 2 egg yolks (depending on the size of your head… just kidding… I mean length of your hair), 1-2 tablespoon of Olive or Coconut Oil and lastly 1-2 tablespoon of Yogurt (Unflavored of course) or Honey (I use yogurt). 

So why egg? Even though it has a strong smell (warning to all human beings in close vicinity), it’s so nutritious for our hair. You know how we all love going for Keratin treatments, yea egg has around 70% of Keratin and is loaded with proteins. It wonderfully repairs damaged hair by filling up weekend spots along the strands, helping them grow strong and long!

IMG_6657

Yogurt, on the other hand, will not just cut the smell of the egg, but it’s natural fat will also help condition our hair and moisturize them. Hence, making them less likely to break.

So how do you apply? First, mix all the ingredients till it comes to a creamy consistency. Next you part your hair and start applying on roots, till you get to all corners of your head. Rub the remaining mask on the length of your hair. Cover up with a shower cap and let it be for 30 mins to 1 hour. And then wash your hair as you normally do. Try to use cold or room temperature water for washing egg- masked hair, in case you cook the eggs up in your hair… lolz warning warning!

So guys, try and let me know how you find it. I’m sure you will love the result of the all-natural hair nourishing mask!

Until we meet again!

Cheers!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

