The Oatmeal Porridge

IMG_0573Breakfast, for me, is not just a meal. It’s a ritual. It’s the time of the day when I get a chance to reminisce over the past, celebrate the present and plan the future. It’s something that is solely done by me, for me. It’s when I get an opportunity to be grateful to God for blessing me with another of His beautiful days.

Over the years my breakfast style has changed quite a bit. From college time when a heavy breakfast meant good grades in exams to almost skipping breakfast while rushing to work, lest I’ll be late again (which was the case most often). And now, when I’m enjoying my time at home and can focus on healthy meals, oatmeal porridge certainly fulfills my idea of a nutritious yet delicious start of the day.

The Oatmeal porridge recipe has come a long way. Time and again, I have searched it up on the You-tube, on various websites and blogs. But finally, I have come up with the most divine recipe of all! It’s inspired by a Jamaican recipe of oat porridge and then I mixed and matched it with some health and fitness recipes.

So here’s how it goes… you will need:

  • 1/2 a cup of organic oats
  • 1 to 11/2 cups of water
  • 1 tbsp coconut milk powder
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon powder

Cover and let it all cook for a few minutes. Now add these as per your taste:

  • Chopped walnuts
  • Almonds
  • Honey
  • Dessicated coconut

Give it a quick mix and then top it up with any or all of these:

  • Sliced bananas
  • Blueberries
  • Rasberries
  • Sliced strawberries
  • Chocolate chips

IMG_0572

And Voila! A sent-from-heaven bowl of oats!! It’s so delicious! Indulge in it with a cup of steaming hot coffee (black… the way I like it) and you will be all charged up to tackle the affairs of the day! 🙂

So what’s your idea of a healthy breakfast?

2 thoughts on “The Oatmeal Porridge

Leave a Reply

